Cambridge exams

5 things you should know about the Cambridge exams

cambridge exams

Everyone has heard of the cambridge exams, especially those people interested in obtaining a regulated English qualification that serves internationally, but do we know what the Cambridge exams really are?

¿What are Cambridge exams??

Cambridge exams are exams and qualifications offered by the Cambridge English Language Assessment (i.e. the linguistic assessment department of the University of Cambridge) outside the United Kingdom, specifically in more than 135 non-English speaking countries, and who have the different levels of English according to the European Framework of Reference for Languages and Association of Language Testers in Europe (HIGH).

These Cambridge exams are the ones with the most prestige and recognition worldwide; That is why at the end of the year they are carried out by around 5 million people.

As a general criterion, four skills are evaluated or skills: Reading, writing, listening and speaking, But not all exams are the same, logically. The difficulty of the exam increases as the level goes up, so preparation for these Cambridge exams It is not an easy task and it is necessary to have a good method and with the help of the best professionals, who will prepare you to successfully face these tests.

Below, we explain the most important points that you should take into account if you decide to prepare for a Cambridge exam.

1. There are five different levels of the Cambridge General English exam

The first of these levels is called KET. It corresponds to level A2 and is aimed at young people and adults who have a basic knowledge of the language. With this Cambridge exam you show that you can maintain simple and basic conversations in English.

The next is the PET, which would correspond to a B1. With this degree you can function in English both in work situations and in everyday life. If you get a score between 160-170 points, you get the Distinction, and at the same time the level B2 or FCE. Although that does not mean that you automatically acquire it.

Then follows the FCE we were talking about, also known as First. With this level it is assumed that you master all areas (speaking, reading, listening and writing). Previously it was divided into five areas, but currently it consists of four: speaking, listening, writing and Use of English.

The consecutive level is FALLS OFF (i.e. C1), and it is the level required by most universities in the United Kingdom to be able to study there. This Cambridge exam delves especially into real conversations, so that the examinee knows how to handle any situation and conversation in real life. Their score ranges from 160 points (this would be a failure) to 210, which would mean a C2 level.

Finally, level C2. It is the highest level you can achieve in the knowledge of a language, excellence. Its tests are the most complicated and longest of the Cambridge exams. It overlaps several skills, so evaluatea: Reading and use of English, writing, listening comprehension and speaking. Quite a challenge, without a doubt.

2. There are other Cambridge exams such as the one focused on business, the BEC

He BEC It is a Cambridge exam, but for specialization. BECs are business English certificates that combine English subjects with specific English focused on the business world. These Cambridge exams arise from the demand of many companies that want their employees to have technical English appropriate to their job.

There are three exams: Preliminary, Vantage and Higher, in which the skills we mentioned above are evaluated.

These exams are also very useful in international business and legal matters. They consist of four parts of 50 questions each. They are not evaluated like the general Cambridge exams, but the final grade will be the result of the average obtained in each of the mentioned parts.

He ILEC is more focused on the legal issue itself and the ICFE more to accounting and finance, although they are very similar in terms of duration and evaluation. In fact, these are not short exams; We are talking about three and a half hours of testing. Have a good coffee before doing it.

4. ILETS: International English Language Testing System

It is a super complete exam that will open the doors to practically all universities in countries such as the United Kingdom, Australia, the United States or New Zealand, among others. This title was carried out by British Council, the University of Cambridge and IDP Australia. Unlike the rest, the Reading and Writing What this Cambridge exam contains will vary depending on the candidate, depending on what they are looking to achieve with it.

5. BULATS: Business Language Testing Services

This exam is probably the most curious of all, since it is mainly used by companies that want to evaluate the English level of their workers. It does not follow the same pattern as the rest of the Cambridge exams, but is made up of several tests that can be done independently or combined in different ways.

After this information and, if you are interested in receiving good preparation for the Cambridge exams in Cartagena, Native English it is what you are looking for. What better way than to prepare for the most recognized and prestigious English exams in the world, with the help of Native teachers?

Leave a Reply